Sign in to follow this  
feeblington

A trend in 6n2 batt/alternator problems?

feeblington

Hello everyone. Ill double this post as my greet as neither seemed long enough for seperate posts.

Im felix. Always enjoy a good forum and ive always loved vws but nwver had one. Just got my first 6n2.

And within 48 hours i breakdown.

Had engine management light. And around 2 hours later battery light.(to which i started to head home around 13miles and brokedown after 10 miles) and just prior to it dieing had the ecm. Abs. Temp. Airbags and oil pressure lights come on. Car then died and would just click and not start.

I think ive traced it to either alternator or the alternator to battery lead.

Id really appreciate input/advice as im self taught and may be going wrong!

Also if anyone knows anyone in cardiff who comes out with a fancy vag laptop to diagnose please holla!

Nice to meet you all and thanks

🙂

dvderlm

Welcome to the forum. I hope the car waa a bargain and you'll have many happy hours of motoring, eventually.

Any OBDii fault code reader should let you find out what the engine light was about. Did it flash, go out?

Were you driving with headlights on and did they go dim, or was it sudden fail? 

What's battery voltage measure at?

and with engine running?

I'd hope for 13.8v.

That alternator cable is kind of vital.

The voltage regulator in the alternator too.

And all earth straps.

nige8021

Here's a guide to fault finding the alternator https://www.clubpolo.co.uk/topic/335902-testing-your-alternator/

The wires going to the alternator are prone to corrosion & cracking, also the fusebox on top of the battery, where the main feed bolts onto the fuses they are also known to overheat and fail, also the flat metal fuses are known to get hairline fractures in them so causing excessive current flow and overheating, you need to remove them from the holder and closely inspect them as they often look OK while bolted in place.

feeblington