Notice to Hotmail/Gmail & BT Internet users - Please check your SPAM/JUNK folders for our emails. Please add our email as a contact to your email account.
Light/Dark Mode Enabled: You can now select the option by clicking the moon/lightbulb in the top right corner!

Various hose problems

I was doing some routine checks under the bonnet on Wednesday i.e oil fluids ect. and came across a hissing sound coming from what may be the servo? (I'm no mechanic by the way) It is a big round thing in front of the drivers side window and has the brake fluid connected to it. Anyway I took the engine cover/air filters off to access it and have discovered that the end of the hose has deteriorated and split, so I have temporarily taped this using electrical tape and a couple of cable ties to keep it tight. This seems to have worked fine and there is no air leak any more.

Since I had the cover off I checked all the other hoses and found one with big splits/holes in it, going into the bottom front of the inlet manifold and then into a little plastic valve. So I went off to VW and got a replacement hose (for an extortionate £15 and a 2 day wait for the part but there you go).

Friday morning VW call with part ready so drove to Chiswick, got it, got home, took the top cover off again, gave the area a good clean up and replaced the hose, all good. [Oh forgot to mention: there was a load of yellow oily gunk that seemed to have built up in the pipes going into the inlet manifold and into the air filter casing. I have cleaned this out as much as possible. My local garage advised me this is just years of build-up.] Whilst doing so I discovered another hose coming from the top of the engine to the air filter also has a hole in it! So I taped it up and used a couple of cable ties to prevent the tape from peeling and will get a replacement, eventually!