Sign in to follow this  
cavedweller

Running with no thermostat

cavedweller

I'm currently running my engine without a thermostat. This doesn't seem to bother the car in any way but I was just wondering if there's anything I should know.

Basically the car seemed to randomly get hot a few times for no reason and I suspected a sticking thermostat. The fan works fine and comes on when it should. It's a 1.0 engine with around 50000 miles and most of it looks like it's hardly ever been changed or tampered with so I took the thermostat out and replaced the small amount of lost coolant with a substance called "water" that seems to do the trick, and I have been running it like that for a couple of months without any problems. And yes I will probably fix it properly at some point but for now the car seems quite happy and It's not winter so I'm in no need of a strong heater at the moment.

The temperature reads at the lowest end of the guage most of the time and only ever creeps up to almost normal if the car is stuck for ages in heavy traffic on a hot day but even then the temperature still doesn't seem to get high enough to even trigger the fan so I've not been too concerned. However, if the car was still like this at MOT time would the cooler running temperature possibly cause a fail on emissions or does the ECU still sort that out even at low running temperature?

dvderlm

Should be fine. MOT test prescribes minimal oil temp of 60 degrees C.

https://www.mot-testing.service.gov.uk/documents/manuals/class3457/Section-8-Nuisance.html#section_8.2

Just water for coolant - especially tap water not de-mineralised - will allow block to begin to corrode.

But a small amount added to antifreeze will be okay.

steveo3002

i think it should pass okay unless its really cold weather and the car wont be up to  temp