bastibum

mk2 breadvan Paula the Polo

bastibum

Last October I bought this red beauty for 750 euro. A pretty good value imo, there is no serious rust on any structural parts.
The ususal rust at the edge of the front-window and some below the rear bumper are the most severe cases of rust. The garage I bought it from put new wider but smaller wheels on it, so the car is already faster on the speedo : )

My plan is to take "Paula" for a roadtrip from Holland through scandinavia this summer. Before that can happen it does need some work on the engine though, I already posted on this forum about throttle hesitation. The fuel filter seemed to be the quick fix however the carb probably has a leak somewhere, the hesisation is still there. This is my first project car, so feel free to give me tips/advise!

Last day of November
spacer.png
spacer.pngspacer.png

Paula her home for the winter
spacer.png

Edited by bastibum

bastibum

Last week I put sound deadening in the boot. Paula is missing the backseat. The noise from the boot while driving is really uncomfortable especially on highways. 
The amount of noise hasn't changed drastically with the mats in the boot,  but the unpleasant tinny sound is less present. My plan is to buy a backseat somehwere in germany. With that installed the noise should be reduced quite a bit.
spacer.png

• Like 1

bastibum

Yesterday I checked for a vacuum leak in the carb by spraying some carb cleaner on it. First time I took off the entire air filter and the carb does show signs of leakage.
The area pointed out by the arrow is where the carb cleaner actually got through the seal. What is the exact name of this part that needs replacement? 
spacer.png

The inside is neither a clean place....
Any recommendations for a good cleaning product?
spacer.png

NathMcloughlin

Get a full carb rebuild kit , wont be expensive,  and use carb cleaner , dont be tempted to use wd40 as it waxes up inside.

dvderlm

>exact part name

"top cover gasket" I think.